Tags

, , , ,

This month is a busy month for many of us. With the school year coming to an end, there are graduations, parties, cookouts and that means one thing…lots of family time. While some people may not look forward to “family time” or maybe they do, but they can only stand it in doses, I feel very fortunate to have grown up with a family who I not only love, but one I genuinely have fun being around.

I grew up in a large Italian family and we love to eat, drink and cook. One of the funniest things is that we are also not the most humble crowd when it comes to appreciating the delicious meals we have put together. I can’t tell you how many times I can recall listening to my uncles, aunts or mom going on and on about how wonderful the food was as we were eating it. What can we say?  We know and appreciate a fine dining experience!

I live away from my family now and I really miss those moments. But, that’s what is so wonderful about food. It evokes memories and takes you back to those times. Whether it be a recipe that has been passed down or the smell of the food cooking  that reminds you of being somewhere with the special people in your life, it’s always there for you when you miss those people and those times.

This Sunday brings the anniversary of losing my amazing mom. It has been 3 years and not a day goes by that I don’t miss her. She was a great cook and thankfully, I have years of memories of sitting in her kitchen talking to her while drinking a glass of wine (when I was of age, of course!) One of my favorite dishes she made was Greek Chicken. And yes, while we are Italian, we can certainly dabble in other cultures!

She is really on my mind today. I found an old piece of yard art that belonged to her in my basement. It used to hang on the fence in her back yard.  It had seen better days, as you can see. And sorry, I forgot the picture until I had started to paint it.  I always do that!

I could have painted it any color, but I chose gold. When I looked at it, I kept thinking Greek sun god and gold just seemed appropriate. He is much happier now and so am I. My mom would also like it. 🙂

So, what about the chicken?  Well, since I had Greek on the brain (and my mom), I thought about her delicious Greek chicken dish. I want to share the recipe with you all. It won’t disappoint…I promise! Just ask my husband. I made it for him on our third date. I know, I know!  I started cooking WAY too early in the courtship. Oh well!

Greek Chicken

Ingredients:

  • 4 boneless breasts of chicken
  • 8 oz can of chicken broth
  • ½ cup of white wine
  • 2 tablespoons of capers
  • 1 can of black or Greek olives, chopped
  • 2 tomatoes, chopped
  • Feta cheese
  • Italian bread crumbs
  • Olive oil

Directions:

Bread the chicken in Italian bread crumbs and fry in olive oil for about ten minutes or until the chicken almost fully cooked. Pour the chicken broth and white wine over the chicken and add the capers, olives and tomatoes and let simmer for ten minutes. Lastly, crumble the Feta cheese on top.

Thanks for reading! This post was good for the soul. Have a great day, y’all!

